About Us


Our Profile

Area: 21 595km² 

Description: Amathole District Municipality is situated in the central part of the Eastern Cape stretching along the Sunshine Coast from the Fish River Mouth, along the Eastern Seaboard to just south of Hole in the Wall along the Wild Coast. It is bordered to the north by the Amathole Mountain Range. The municipality is comprised of six local municipalities: Mbhashe, Mnquma, Great Kei, Amahlathi, Ngqushwa and Raymond Mhlaba. 

Four heritage routes have been developed that are named after Xhosa kings and heroes. They are the Maqoma Route, the Makana Route, the Sandile Route and the Phalo Route. These intertwine with the other tourism routes located within the district, namely the Sunshine Coast Route, the Wild Coast Route, the Amathole Mountain Escape Route and the Friendly N6 Route.

Cities/Towns: Adelaide, Alice, Amatola Coastal, Bedford, Butterworth, Cathcart, Dutywa, Elliotdale, Fort Beaufort, Hamburg, Hogsback, Kei Mouth, Kei Road, Keiskammahoek, Kentani, Komga, Middeldrift, Morgan Bay, Ngqamakhwe, Peddie, Seymore, Stutterheim, Willowvale

Main Economic Sectors: Community services (44%), finance (19%), manufacturing (14%), trade (13%), transport (4%), agriculture (3%), construction (2%)


Our Map






Political Management


Management information has been updated since the 3 August 2016 local government elections.

Mayor: Ms Nomfusi Winnie Nxawe

Other Members of Council: Nceba Ndikinda (Speaker), Solomzi Ndwayana (Chief Whip), Nonceba Mfecane (MPAC Chairperson), Sithembele Zuka (Portfolio: Economic Development), Laverne Jacobs (Engineering), Nondumiso Mgidlana (Corporate Services), Baba Mntuwoxolo Ganjana (Land and Human Settlement), Ngenisile Tekile (Health and Protection), Nomabhele Plaatjie (Community Safety), Mxolisi Namba (Strategic Planning and IDP), Nomvuyiseko Bonga (Community Liaison and Participation)



Administrative Management


Municipal Manager: Thandekile Mnyimba

Acting Senior Communications Officer: Nonceba Vuso <----- 043 783 2500 --->This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.




Population 892 637
Age Structure
Population under 15 33.40%
Population 15 to 64 57.60%
Population over 65 8.90%
Dependency Ratio
Per 100 (15-64) 73.60
Sex Ratio
Males per 100 females 88.60
Population Growth
Per annum -0.82%
Labour Market
Unemployment rate (official) 42.90%
Youth unemployment rate (official) 15-34 53.40%
Education (aged 20 +)
No schooling 13.50%
Higher education 6.10%
Matric 13.40%
Household Dynamics
Households 237 776
Average household size 3.60
Female headed households 53.00%
Formal dwellings 52.60%
Housing owned 68.20%
Household Services
Flush toilet connected to sewerage 14.80%
Weekly refuse removal 15.90%
Piped water inside dwelling 12.10%
Electricity for lighting 69.80%



Offcanvas Module

Our themes are built on a responsive framework, which gives them a friendly, adaptive layout